{week 21} suffolk puffs

This week could have been titled clip-frame purse as I tried them out this week for the first time as well. But I couldn’t resist the title, Suffolk puffs, not least because I’m from Suffolk.

Suffolk puff clip frame purse

Also known as yo-yos, Suffolk puffs are very easy to make and can be used in loads of projects from necklaces to quilts and cushions. I’ve never made one before so I followed the simple instructions in Ruth Singer’s wonderful book, Sew it up (a great book covering every sewing technique you can think of) to whip up a simple linen ‘puff’.

Suffolk puff clip frame purse

I then made the clip-frame purse – I got covered in glue but it turned out pretty well I think. The lining is my favourite fabric (again, I used it for the clock and cushion too).

I’m definitely going to make some more of these purses – just perfect for Christmas presents!

Suffolk puff clip frame purse

PS Welcome to Sew Hip readers – hope you enjoy my little blog and get inspired to try your own crafting challenge.

4 Responses to “{week 21} suffolk puffs”


  1. 1 mei November 2, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    hey, those are really cute, love them!

  2. 2 pouch November 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    these are great! never tried making these, they look really impressive :)


  1. 1 {week 22} leaf printing « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on March 8, 2011 at 10:24 pm
  2. 2 My top 5 craft books « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on May 4, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.