{week 15} sashiko embroidery

I love the look of sashiko embroidery – its clean lines and elegance have had me wanting to have a go for some time.

1. Sashiko apron, 2. sashiko envelope inside, 3. Sashiko pouch, 4. sashiko, 5. Sashiko Pillow, 6. sashiko embroidery

Traditional sashiko uses a special needle, thread and thimble. I substituted them for a normal embroidery needle and thread – and I don’t have a thimble so had to manage without. The traditional designs, like this one from Purl, are lovely but I wanted to do something very simple, and colourful. I decided to make a simple envelope cushion from simple linen and a colourful backing fabric (by Anna Maria Horner).

Sashiko uses just a simple running stitch where all the stitches are equal width. I picked three colours of embroidery thread to match the backing fabric. I drew lines on the linen with a water soluble marker so I kept my stitches straight and arranged the leaves that I’d cut out of the backing fabric until I had a design I was happy with.

Embroidered cushion cover

The design came together very quickly – you don’t need an embroidery hoop and you work several stitches at a time.

I’m very pleased with the finished cushion – I definitely want to do more sashiko embroidery and try out a more traditional design.

Sashiko embroidery

4 Responses to “{week 15} sashiko embroidery”


  1. 1 laura September 19, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    This looks fab! Really nice design.

  2. 2 jessyz September 20, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    It is gorgeous, the fabric is really pretty and I love the little leaves at the ends.


  1. 1 {week 17} tick tock « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on October 3, 2010 at 12:54 pm
  2. 2 {week 21} suffolk puffs « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on October 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

