{week 21} suffolk puffs

This week could have been titled clip-frame purse as I tried them out this week for the first time as well. But I couldn’t resist the title, Suffolk puffs, not least because I’m from Suffolk.

Suffolk puff clip frame purse

Also known as yo-yos, Suffolk puffs are very easy to make and can be used in loads of projects from necklaces to quilts and cushions. I’ve never made one before so I followed the simple instructions in Ruth Singer’s wonderful book, Sew it up (a great book covering every sewing technique you can think of) to whip up a simple linen ‘puff’.

Suffolk puff clip frame purse

I then made the clip-frame purse – I got covered in glue but it turned out pretty well I think. The lining is my favourite fabric (again, I used it for the clock and cushion too).

I’m definitely going to make some more of these purses – just perfect for Christmas presents!

Suffolk puff clip frame purse

PS Welcome to Sew Hip readers – hope you enjoy my little blog and get inspired to try your own crafting challenge.

4 Responses to “{week 21} suffolk puffs”


  1. 1 mei November 2, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    hey, those are really cute, love them!

  2. 2 pouch November 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    these are great! never tried making these, they look really impressive :)


  1. 1 {week 22} leaf printing « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on March 8, 2011 at 10:24 pm
  2. 2 My top 5 craft books « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on May 4, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

