{week 22} leaf printing

Sometimes it’s good to do something simple. I loved the purse I made last week but it was pretty fiddly so I’m taking a breather this week with a very basic technique: leaf printing.

Experimenting

I gathered some leaves from the garden (in the rain, I am dedicated to crafting) and mixed up some acrylic paint. The only other bits and pieces you need are scrap paper, a sponge, a brayer and something to print on. It was a good idea to practice a bit on sketchbook paper as I discovered you get a better print on the second run.

1) Apply the paint to the leaf with a sponge.
2) Carefully lay the leaf on your card, paper or whatever else you’re printing on. Cover it with a piece of scrap paper.
3) Run the brayer over a couple of times. Carefully peel back the paper. Repeat as often as you like.

Fun with nature

I printed a pretty set of cards and a simple canvas which I’m going to display in my craft room to remind me of summer when we’re in the depths of cold winter.

Leafy canvas

0 Responses to “{week 22} leaf printing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

