{week 51} polymer clay

When I realised that one of the last crafts I had left was polymer clay, or Fimo as people in the UK more commonly know it, I groaned a little bit. Not because I didn’t want to make something with it but all I could think of were buttons, beads, or pendants. But I’ve already made them with so many other means (see porcelain and shrink plastic) and I didn’t want to be boring.

So I did some internet searching as you do and came up with the idea to make stamps with the clay.

Polymer clay stamps
I made the stamps by rolling out the clay (using a brayer but anything would do like a good old rolling pin, but not one you use for food of course) and made stamps by adding details either with coils or balls, or by impressing shapes into the clay (can you guess what I used?)

Then I baked the clay for 30 mins at 110C.

I haven’t had time to use the stamps yet so I’ll update soon with the results. Have a crafty week. x

2 Responses to “{week 51} polymer clay”


  1. 1 INEZ FOREMAN June 14, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Wow, your at 51 weeks It seems so quick I have been following you weekly from New York in the USA. I have been enjoy the journey with you and was just wondering what would be next after the 52 weeks. I have learned a great deal and revisiting some crafts that I left behind. And wanted to thank you very much for this weekly adventure of pure craft. Keep being creative.
    Thank you,
    Inez

  2. 2 Christine June 15, 2011 at 9:36 am

    Thank you Inez. I’m so happy to have inspired you to revisit some crafts and teach you about new ones. Year 2 coming soon :) x


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

