{week 52!} batik

Wow, here we are at week 52. I can’t quite believe it. I came up with the idea whilst recovering from back surgery last June and I’m so proud to have completed a craft a week for a whole magnificent year.

Another crazy idea I had a year ago was to take part in the Edinburgh Moonwalk. So I’m writing this post whilst resting my ridiculously sore feet. I walked 26.2 miles through the night for breast cancer and completed it in a very respectable 7 hours. Something else to be proud of I think. I hope all this pride doesn’t result in a fall. As I can hardly walk that’s very possible.

With my medal

Anyway, on with the craft. For the very last week I decided to try batik.

The basic principle is that you apply molten wax to fabric to create a pattern and then dye it. I used an Xxx to drip the wax in a flower pattern – the fabric is stretched tight over a hoop first. Then I decided to use coffee to dye the fabric – but you can use batik dye. After soaking it for ages I let it dry and used absorbent paper and an iron to (attempt to) remove the wax. You can repeat the process to add another colour if you like to make more intricate designs.

Batik - last week of 52 crafts in 52 weeks

As you can see, the wax hasn’t entirely lifted off yet so I need to give it another iron. But I think batik gives a nice effect with the natural dye don’t you? I’d like to add some machine embroidery to it and make it into a pillow or maybe a bag.

Stay tuned for a big end of year giveaway later this week. And all the details for year 2 and how you can join in.

Thank you for all your support over the last 52 weeks. Every comment, view, retweet, idea and subscription means so much.

Happy crafting,
Christine x

7 Responses to “{week 52!} batik”


  1. 1 Chris June 14, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Okay, I totally need to look up this batik thing. I looks virtually foolproof (always good!).

  2. 3 Laura June 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! I have been following this blog for quite so time and have been truly impressed and inspired. I’m looking forward to seeing what the next project is, as I’d quite like to get involved! xx

  3. 5 Lucy June 14, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Congratulations Christine! As you know I have been following you since the beginning and am very impressed you got to week 52 :) If it had been me I would have faltered at week 20something. Look forward to seeing what you have got planned next and how hopefully (time/baby allowing) I can take part. Lucy x PS. hope your feet are feeling better!

  4. 7 SONIA June 18, 2011 at 9:19 am

    wuaoooooo… Awesome blog, thanks to share.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

