{week 33} appliqué

I have a craft book addiction – you should see them all! In fact, you can, here you go:

I have a lot of craft books...

So the last thing I needed was another craft book. But that didn’t stop me buying this one:

It’s a lovely book – it’s spiral bound, which I always like in an instructional book, and the full size patterns are all included in a pocket in the back. I hate it when you have to enlarge a pattern – it’s a real barrier for me to attempting a project. As well as all the instructions you need to learn the basics of appliqué it has lots of inspiring projects and ideas for you to try. I really want to make the coasters as soon as I get some batting. But this week’s project utilises supplies I already have: plain tote bags and fabric.

If you want to join in, you will need:

– plain tote bag
– fabric scraps in patterns and colours that make you happy
– matching or contrasting embroidery thread
– embroidery hoop
– needle and small scissors

I’m using the reverse appliqué technique for this project. I’ll try and explain it as we go along but if you have any questions just ask.

1 ) Draw a circle on the bag of a piece of fabric – I used a small jar as a template.
2 ) Cut squares out of the fabric scraps a centimetre or so larger than the circle.
3 ) Turn the bag inside out. Pin one piece of fabric to the bag – right side facing down. Turn the bag back the other way.
4 ) Draw around the circle template on top of the two layers of fabric.
5 ) Put the bag in the embroidery hoop – only the front of it, if you sew through it all you won’t have a very usable bag!
6 ) Embroider around the circle using a running stitch.
7 ) Remove the bag from the hoop.
8 ) Very very carefully snip away the bag fabric a few millimetres inside your stitched line – don’t cut the fabric underneath. A small sharp pair of scissors work best.
9 ) Repeat as many times as you like. You can tidy up the inside of the bag by trimming the squares down to circles if you like.

Reverse appliqued book bag

If you need any help, let me know in the comments. Happy crafting. x

7 Responses to “{week 33} appliqué”


  1. 1 wendy January 24, 2011 at 11:10 am

    No, that’s not a craft book addiction – this is http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.com/p/craft-book-challenge.html !!

    I can’t see your picture very well – was it hand or machine embroidered? I love applique, it’s such a nice technique.

  2. 3 elizabeth January 26, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    oh I love this! and while I don’t really sew, I feel like I could actually handle something like this.

  3. 5 subversivesuburban January 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    It looks beautiful — and applique sure is addictive, isn’t it?

    And that brings up a question I’ve had for awhile: which crafts that you’ve tried are ones you’d like to do more of?

    Many thanks for sharing this craft adventure. :-)


  1. 1 {week 34} glass etching « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on March 6, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.