DIY Maternity photo shoot

So this isn’t a craft as such but it is a DIY so I thought I’d share with you all how we set-up our little maternity shoot at home.

1) Lighting – we threw open the blinds to let as much natural light in as possible, but not direct sunlight.

2) Background – we originally thought we’d have a picture of the Golden Gate Bridge in the background but it was too fussy. Plain works best.

3) Clothing – make sure whatever you wear shows off your beautiful baby bump, but doesn’t distract from it. I’m all about comfort now so I had maternity leggings and a simple black jersey dress (I bought it on Etsy years ago).

4) Equipment – we used Ben’s fancy pants DSLR, a tripod and a remote. You could also use the self timer on any camera and prop it up somewhere at a suitable height. The remote was good though as Ben could just keep shooting and it gave us more natural shots.

5) Fun – hopefully you can tell we had fun with our photos, don’t be too serious about the perfect shot.

6) Animals – Toby hates cameras so getting him to look in the right direction is impossible so this was a time the remote was very handy. We had a lot of pictures with him looking the opposite way so getting Ben to engage with him seemed to be the best way to make it work. I imagine the same might apply if you have another child in the photos.

7) Post-shoot processing – I cropped, altered the colours very slightly and made one photo (the bump one) black and white. Don’t go mad with effects, just tinker a little to get the look you’re after. I used the soon-to-close Picnik on Flickr to do all the processing. I need a new free image editor soon though.

We’re not experts at this so if anyone has any more tips to share I’d love to hear them!

1 Response to “DIY Maternity photo shoot”


  1. 1 chicenvelopements March 31, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    So cute! I’ll have to share this with my daughter, who will be having a baby in October. I can’t wait!!!
    Happy Saturday!
    Beth


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

