{week 34} glass etching

I look forward to every weekend knowing that I’ll be trying out a new crafty project and I was particularly excited about this one: glass etching.

Do you want to have a go too? If you do you’ll need etching compound (I got mine here) plus you need an old brush and some gloves as well as something to etch – I decided to use an old jam jar and turn it into a pretty candle – and a way of creating a template. You could cut a design out of contact paper or sticky back plastic but I used vinyl and my Silhouette to cut a fancy heart shape.

First you need to stick the design firmly onto the jar. Put on gloves and paint the compound on liberally. Follow the instructions and leave it on for as long as it suggests. Then rinse it off (wearing your gloves still please, it’s acid) and remove the sticky template. Light a tealight and there you have it, a romantic candle.

Glass etching

Let me know if you’ve tried glass etching or you if plan to give it a go.

subversivesuburban asked me a question on last week’s post that I promised I’d answer once I’d given it some thought: “which crafts that you’ve tried are ones you’d like to do more of?”

After 34 weeks it’s hard to remember all the crafts I’ve tried – I have to come back and look at the blog to remember sometimes. But the one that sticks in my head is week 2 – freehand machine embroidery. I loved how easy it was to end up with such a pretty and effective result – I have the finished framed flower sitting on my mantelpiece so I see it every day. I definitely want to play with the technique more. I’d also like to do more candle making and papercutting. The problem with this project is that there’s always another week and another craft just around the corner so I don’t have time to go back and learn and master a technique more. Maybe in week 53…

If you’ve got any questions please ask in the comments or you can email me: 52crafts52weeks[at]gmail.com

6 Responses to “{week 34} glass etching”


  1. 1 INEZ January 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Wow, I have don’t glass etching for a very long time. Seeing you design gave me idea to start again. The only thing I ever etch was christmas glass balls and gave them as gifts. Maybe I’ll do it again being that I only have one left as a reminder. Thanks for doing so many different crafts every week keep up the good work.
    Loving this site.

  2. 3 wendy January 31, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks so much for this – I’ve been looking for glass etching stuff and only saw it on American blogs/websites. And Fred Aldous will be at the craft show at the NEC next month so I can see if they have some on offer. One little query though – what is contact paper?

  3. 5 wendy February 14, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Oh, sorry, I didn’t realise you’d replied. I don’t usually go back to check comments. But thank you for your response!


  1. 1 A handmade Christmas – gift ideas « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on November 28, 2012 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

