{week 31} corsage

Every new year my thoughts turn to how to reduce lots of things: my weight, my spending, my mess and waste. So this week’s craft helps with at least two of those.

Remember Mr.Rabbit? Well I had quite a bit of wool left over from making him so in the spirit of spending less and recycling I thought I’d use some of it this week. And I’ve written a little tutorial for you so you can make one too.

Finished corsage

1 ) Cut out six circles from your felted wool (or whatever fabric you have to hand). I used a teacup as the template.
2 ) Thread a needle with a piece of strong white thread and tie a knot in the end.
3 )  Fold one of the circles in half and half again.

Folding
4 ) Then fold each flap out on to itself. Hard to explain this in words so have a look at the photos but leave a comment if you need more explanation.

And more folding
5 ) Pull the needle and thread through all the folds.
6 ) Then fold the next circle. And sew through that too.

Sewing together
7 ) Keep going until you’ve sewn together all six.
8 ) Secure it all with a few stitches until you’re happy with how it looks.
9 ) Attach a brooch bar or safety pin on to the back and you’re all done.

Attaching the pin

Hope 2011 is going well for you so far – happy crafting!

7 Responses to “{week 31} corsage”


  1. 1 JoAnn Witherow January 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Looks like fun to make ! Love recycling fabrics to make
    other things. I would even add some sparkle .

  2. 3 Sally Walters January 13, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    I love this christine !!! You may be getting orders through for ideas i’m having for the wedding at this rate !! x

  3. 5 Anita Amyotte January 13, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Looks nice and easy! Good for kids.

    The description you’re looking for is “accordian fold”, to describe that back-and-forth folding.

    :)


  1. 1 A handmade Christmas – gift ideas « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on November 28, 2012 at 3:07 am

Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.