{week 26} air-drying modelling clay

Wow, I’ve made it to the half-way mark. I thought I’d do some big spectacular craft for this landmark week but unfortunately q lack of time and my health (I’ve hurt my back) intervened so it’s a simple one this week.

I loved playing with the air-drying modelling clay to make simple tags.  It’s really accessible – you don’t need fancy equipment – and anyone can have a go. I bought my clay from Hobbycraft and used biscuit cutters to cut out the shapes after rolling it out – I used baking parchment to cover the board and clay (rather than get clay on my rolling pin!)

Tags made from air-dry modelling clay

The most important thing to remember is to keep it wrapped up once you’ve opened the packet as it will of course dry out otherwise.

Love

I left the shapes to dry overnight and the next morning they were ready to use – I filed the edges with a nail file to make them smooth. I can see loads of ways of using the tags – I’ve used one on a jam jar to make a little candle holder and as decoration on my Christmas presents. I’d also like to have a go at decorating them with paint and rubber stamps (if I have time, week 27 is just around the corner).

Wrapping up Christmas

What other ideas do you have? Have you played with air-drying clay?

2 Responses to “{week 26} air-drying modelling clay”


  1. 1 Cara December 11, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I did this last year and loved it. I scratched names & Christmas greetings into the clay with toothpicks too. They do make fabulous Tags. xx


  1. 1 Tweets that mention {week 26} air-drying modelling clay « 52 crafts in 52 weeks -- Topsy.com Trackback on December 8, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.