{week 25} fabric painting

As Christmas draws ever nearer I’m trying to pick crafts that can be used to make presents or decorations. This week’s craft falls into the first category: fabric painting.

It’s a really simple craft to do – you just need some paints, a brush and something to paint (oh and an iron but I’m hoping you already have one of those unless you like the slept-in-my-clothes look).

I decided to paint some canvas tote bags. Despite loving crafting I am a little artistically challenged on the painting front (and yet, two weeks in a row I’m doing crafts involving painting!) so I kept it simple with circles. I drew them first using a fabric pen and then filled in the shapes with gold and brown paint. A couple of tips – if you’re painting something like a bag or t-shirt that has two layers of fabric make sure you put some paper inside to protect the other layer; and of course make sure you protect the table you’re working on. Once the paint is dried you just iron it to set the design – follow the instructions on your paints.

Painting tote bags

I only had time to paint one bag this week but time marches on and week 26 is just around the corner – I think I need a whole weekend of crafting to have time to finish all the projects I’ve started and keep up with my weekly challenge.

3 Responses to “{week 25} fabric painting”


  1. 1 Miki Bennett December 6, 2010 at 1:04 am

    I like this idea! Are you using specific fabric paint or just acrylic paint? Probably a silly question but wanted to be sure. I love tote bags so I like your idea and they would make great gifts. Keep up the good work.

    • 2 Christine December 6, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Hi Miki, I used fabric paint but I saw someone on TV the other day using acrylic. I think it’s okay if you’re not going to be washing the item. Hope that helps. x


  1. 1 A handmade Christmas – gift ideas « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on November 28, 2012 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

