{week 22} leaf printing

Sometimes it’s good to do something simple. I loved the purse I made last week but it was pretty fiddly so I’m taking a breather this week with a very basic technique: leaf printing.

Experimenting

I gathered some leaves from the garden (in the rain, I am dedicated to crafting) and mixed up some acrylic paint. The only other bits and pieces you need are scrap paper, a sponge, a brayer and something to print on. It was a good idea to practice a bit on sketchbook paper as I discovered you get a better print on the second run.

1) Apply the paint to the leaf with a sponge.
2) Carefully lay the leaf on your card, paper or whatever else you’re printing on. Cover it with a piece of scrap paper.
3) Run the brayer over a couple of times. Carefully peel back the paper. Repeat as often as you like.

Fun with nature

I printed a pretty set of cards and a simple canvas which I’m going to display in my craft room to remind me of summer when we’re in the depths of cold winter.

Leafy canvas

0 Responses to “{week 22} leaf printing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.