Nursery projects part 4

{part 1 here} {part 2 here} {part 3 here}

I recently spent a whole afternoon ignoring the sunshine and choosing instead to sit at the sewing machine determined to finish the baby’s quilt (matching blanket and burp cloths).

Finished baby quilt

The beautiful owl flannel fabric does all the work. I accented it with lots of freehand machine embroidery, backed it with a plain brown flannel and finished it with a turquoise binding.

Close-up of embroidery

I’ve always shied away from binding but now I’ve done it (this is only my third ever baby quilt) I’d definitely use it again and would love to make my own binding next time. I followed the tutorial by Prudent Baby on how to attach it to the quilt.

Baby's first quilt
I still have a couple more projects to show you but I need help from my husband for one of them (a mobile) and I’d like to have Baby model the other (the finally finished crochet blanket, sneak peak here) so you may have to wait a while. Plus I thought the quilt deserved a post all of its own.

5 Responses to “Nursery projects part 4”


  1. 1 Barbara April 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Christine, This looks great, warm and comfy too, I am sure. Thanks for keeping the craft projects coming even during this very busy year for you. Best wishes for a happy, healthy baby soon!

  2. 3 cucicucicoo April 24, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    that is just lovely! the freehand stitching on top is perfect! :) lisa

  3. 4 Lorainne July 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    That is absolutely stunning! I love owls… :)


  1. 1 Pretty Prudent Reader Round-up | Parenting Success Trackback on September 12, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.