{week 24} ceramic painting

Today I did something very indulgent – I took the day off work to spend it with a friend and we did lots of lovely things. We went to the gym – and sat drinking coffee followed by the jacuzzi and the sauna (so we didn’t actually step foot in the gym bit). Then we went for a lovely lunch (carrot and coriander soup with cornbread for me) followed by a very restful afternoon of ceramic painting in a ceramics cafe. (I just need to apologise at this point for the photo quality – I forgot my camera!)

Concentration

The beauty of a ceramics cafe is that you can choose anything from a eggcup to a huge vase to decorate – and you don’t need any experience. The simplest designs are usually the most effective – polka dots for example.

Susan going dotty

I picked a pretty little plate – and my friend a spoon rest – and got painting. I drew a simple flower design on the plain plate and chose pretty pink, lilac and grey to paint it.

My plate

When I pick up the finished piece – they have to fire it – I promise to come back and update this post with a decent photo!

2 Responses to “{week 24} ceramic painting”


  1. 1 wendy November 22, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I love the ceramics cafes! There is one near my house called Funky Pots and I’m always trying to pursuade random children to let me take them there!


Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.