{week 5} felty goodness

I love felt – it reminds me of playing with fuzzy felt characters when I was little. Making little scenes and revelling in the touch and sensation of the felt – how did it stick like that? And all the beautiful colours were just delicious.

So when Laura of Bugs and Fishes offered to send me some felt to help me with my 52 crafts project I of course jumped at the chance. But despite loving felt I’ve never really made anything with it. And I’m very time-poor this week so I needed a quick and easy but effective project to try.

My birthday is very very soon and I’m having a little barbecue on Sunday to celebrate so I decided a pretty party garland in the style of the one by The Purl Bee was the way to go.

Felt circles

I found three handy round differently-sized objects to draw around to make my circle templates (a little pot and two cotton reels) and cut them out of card. And then I got chopping into my rainbow of pretty felt scraps – so many gorgeous colours.  Finally I simply and randomly sewed them together in one continuous thread – I used white thread (rather than the invisible recommended by Purl) and just kept going until I’d used them all up.

Sewing the garland

I think it looks gorgeous adorning my dresser (can you spot previous week’s projects? It’s fast turning into a mini art and vintage crockery gallery).

My party garland on the dresser

Do you have a favourite project using felt?

12 Responses to “{week 5} felty goodness”


  1. 1 Lisa Stevens July 8, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Simple, but effective! And it couls be so easily adapted….flower shapes, butterflies, etc
    You’ve certainly had a good start to your 52 crafts!

  2. 3 Ruth Umney July 8, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    loving the garland, I might make one…I LOVE felt for it’s speed and versatility…I keep a basic stock in my craft box ready for a quick pressie or the like…I think this is my favourite project yet for felt….although a felt garland may soon take over…http://craftyartyyummy.blogspot.com/2010/04/look-whats-growing-in-my-garden.html
    keep going on the 52 crafts, what a project…i’m glad I found you early on!!!
    Rx

  3. 5 Alenka July 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I found your blog via Whip up. This idea of yours is great and I will follow with interest. For sure, I will try some of your crafts too. But what a challenge, try something new each week! Where do you get the time??

    • 6 Christine July 22, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      Hi Alenka – I don’t really know where I find the time but I think when you love something you can always find time somewhere. And you can decide not to do boring things like cleaning!!

  4. 7 Tessa July 14, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Hi there!

    I also found your website via Whipup (love that site!) a few weeks ago. So I followed al your projects so far, and I intend to do so for the 47 weeks ahead too.
    It’s very inspriring to see you come up with something new every week, also it’s tempting to go along with you, but there are several unfinished projects both in my head and in my craftroom already, so first things first…

    Although this garland might just end up in the long list of pieces to make and things to do.

    Have a lot of fun next weeks, greetings from Holland! Tessa

  5. 9 Jules July 18, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    I love the idea of this. Simple but very effective.


  1. 1 {week 13} needle felting « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on September 3, 2010 at 11:18 am
  2. 2 {week 5} weaving « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on August 1, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

