Recycled Valentine’s place mats

Wow, long time no blog hey? Hopefully you’ve been checking in with Letters Home and you’ve seen I’m settling in to life in California. And can you believe our baby is due in 7 weeks? I have some baby related projects to share soon.

But today is Valentine’s Day so here’s a very quick project I whipped up.

Our belongings from the UK arrived last week which included our gorgeous dining table and chairs. But idiot that I am I didn’t pack our placemats. However we do have a mountain of bubble wrap and paper left over from the unpacking so I stitched these quickly on trusty Nina (the Bernina) who seems to have survived the Atlantic crossing unscathed (oh I missed her!).

All I did was cut the bubble wrap and paper to size, sandwiched them together (like a quilt) and used Nina to freehand embroider a heart and a border through the layers.

I’m going to make some proper mats soon (well time allowing, we’re on a bit of a countdown now!) but these will protect our table for now, and look pretty for our romantic dinner for two tonight.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

2 Responses to “Recycled Valentine’s place mats”


  1. 1 Barbara February 15, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Hi Christine, great to hear from you again! I love this idea, I am always looking for ways to use bubble wrap, and this is really a good one. Best wishes to you as you settle in to the US and for a happy delivery of a healthy baby.
    Love, Barbara

  2. 2 Charlotte February 15, 2012 at 10:31 am

    hahaha! those are totally fab!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

