{week 9} smocking

Well the observant amongst you will have noticed I haven’t been around these here parts for a while. Crafting and blogging sometimes have to take a back seat behind family and work (where are my priorities?). But here I am with my newest project and week 9…

Smocking

I love the colours aqua and hot pink together, don’t you?

I used this really easy tutorial to make this little project. I think I’ll turn it into a cushion cover.

Have you ever tried smocking? What embroidery techniques have you been trying this month?

You can comment here, on Twitter (using the hashtag #52crafts52weeks), or upload your projects to Facebook or Flickr. Or you can add it via the link tool below.

Flashback: week 9 in year 1 was all about porcelain beads!

9 Responses to “{week 9} smocking”


  1. 1 Barbara September 14, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    I really like this! Nice colors and choosing a plain color fabric is great, I have often seen smocking done on gingham , plaids, and prints, but I like the idea of plain fabric better. Thanks for this inspiration, I will be trying this one for sure. PS Don”t worry that you need time for all parts of your life, so do I and actually I feel better that you mentioned it. We can’t all do something every week, instead we can do just do what we are able to and enjoy it without worry about the pressure of producing something on a strict schedule.
    Thanks, happy crafting, Barbara

  2. 2 Panya September 15, 2011 at 4:56 am

    Just yesterday I was wondering where you were, and went searching for you on different social media sites to see if I missed something happening — I was worried! Glad to see it was just life. :-)

    That said… I adore smocking. I’ve always wanted to smock the front of a throw pillow. OR! Even more impractical, the exterior of a clutch purse.

  3. 3 Sydney September 15, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Wow.. That looks so good! I love the idea of a smocked-front throw pillow. And while it wouldn’t work with my decor, I love your turquoise and pink color choices!

  4. 4 wendy September 15, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    That looks fantastic! I need to try that… I love the colours you’ve chosen, it makes it look so modern. I have joined in this time! Not smocking, but a needlework technique. I’ll link!

  5. 5 Jennifer September 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Thanks for the link to the tute! We are in desperate need of throw pillows, so I just started one on white twill with blueish charcoal embroidery floss. Will link back when I post the pics.

  6. 6 Yuuna (優菜) September 22, 2011 at 2:16 am

    Very nice! I find myself wondering now what material would look like if it was smocked, then dyed, then you removed the smocking. I might have to try that at some point, just to see the effects that can be created! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. 7 Jules September 23, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    I really love this. The colours and the pattern made by smocking.

  8. 8 Sara October 2, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Hope you are ok – not seen you around for a while. Love following your work :o)


  1. 1 pillows galore « jennifer’s blog Trackback on November 15, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

