Have you been inspired to try printing this month?

Here are your blog posts and projects all about printing. Enjoy, and if you have any to add, leave me a comment below.

Shawn tried both potato printing and screen printing this month:

Potato Printing

Silk Screen

Laura posted some great potato printing inspiration on her blog – don’t be fooled by the name, she certainly isn’t crap at art!

Trish mentioned the embroidery screen tutorial on her blog, genuine mudpie – I’ve just spent some time over there and it’s a lovely place to explore – check out the crocheted belt, a project for month 2 maybe? She also tried sun printing – looks like good fun and something I want to try too.

EDIT
Lots more inspiring projects have been added to the comments this week and I love them all!

Printing with crochet flowers
Creadientje
used a crochet flower to create this print – isn’t it great? I love how the texture of the yarn comes over in print.

And Talia did some fabulous lino printing – I love her giraffe motif. Her blog post about the project gives some great tips on how to succeed with lino printing.

Lino printing

And finally, Barbara told us about her potato and silk screening exploits:

I tried potato printing and silk screening this month. I did a t-shirt with a symbol that opposes high pressure gas drilling (it is an environmental issue in my area) , and I made several prints on paper with my potato “star”. I think I can cut them and use them in collage or as journal covers. I am working on learning how to make my own journals using paper that otherwise would end up in the landfill. Thanks for all the inspiration this month, on to fiber crafts!

And finally finally finally, and thank you to Talia for the suggestion, you can upload your own links to your printing projects below. I’m going to start including this on every post so look out for it from now on.

(how cute is that little logo?!)

12 Responses to “Have you been inspired to try printing this month?”


  1. 1 trish July 25, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    thank you for mentioning my blog! :D i’m very inspired by your projects as well!

  2. 3 Wendy July 26, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Hi Christine,
    I’ve been rubbish! I do fully intend to join in with the challenge, but for some reason, I just didn’t feel inspired by printing, though it is something I’d like to do… at some point! I will join in though, promise!

    • 4 Christine July 26, 2011 at 3:11 pm

      Hi Wendy, Just join in at any time, no pressure :) Next month is fibre (fiber) so knitting, crochet, weaving etc (list of what I’m going to be trying will be coming soon).

  3. 7 Barbara July 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I tried potato printing and silk screening this month. I did a t-shirt with a symbol that opposes high pressure gas drilling (it is an environmental issue in my area) , and I made several prints on paper with my potato “star”. I think I can cut them and use them in collage or as journal covers. I am working on learning how to make my own journals using paper that otherwise would end up in the landfill. Thanks for all the inspiration this month, on to fiber crafts!
    Barbara

  4. 9 Talia July 29, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Hey Christine,

    Here’s the blog post for my lino print. I’m a bit late, but better late then never I guess!!

  5. 11 Talia July 29, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Also, have you thought about putting a linky at the bottom of the post so people can add their blog posts sharing what they’ve made?

    Here’s a good free one I use: http://www.inlinkz.com/


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

