Is there a low-tech way to screen print?

If you were daunted by my last post about screen printing with a myriad of tools and steps you may be asking, is there an easier, low-tech way? Why yes, there is!

I remember one of the very first tutorials I found and bookmarked was about screen printing with a few simple supplies. In fact, here is that very tutorial.

It uses an embroidery hoop, tulle (or old tights), ink, paintbrush, glue and your chosen design (oh and something to print on!).

How does that sound? I haven’t tried it but if you do, let us know and share your photos.

5 Responses to “Is there a low-tech way to screen print?”


  1. 1 Becky July 13, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    I tried this method once, to make some customized baby bibs for a couple of friends of mine–both were expecting, and both are huge Lord of the Rings fans, so I made them bibs that had some symbols from that. It worked pretty well, though I’d recommend definitely testing the screen on some scrap fabric first before doing your real project. With the glue, it’s really easy for it to miss one or two holes in the nylons, here and there. I also recommend putting a couple of layers of glue on the screen. (I used the mod podge type, and it was nice and thick, but I still wanted to make sure it would hold up well for a couple of prints!) Anyway, you can see the results here– it’s the horse and the tree. http://sew-and-so.blogspot.com/2010/05/somewhat-overdue-baby-gift.html

  2. 3 Shawn Schumacher July 15, 2011 at 12:19 am

    I ended up ordering a kit from speedball… However once I got this tutorial I decided to try it this way first. A lot less complicated steps. So the result is… It worked. I will post pictures later. My son and I made t-shirts for his cousins that we are going to visit next week.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

