Printing inspiration

In advance of getting stuck in to year 2 of 52 crafts in 52 weeks I thought I’d have little wander around pinterest and blog-land to gather up some printing inspiration for us.

Potato printing

Crap at art pointed me towards this tutorial which is lovely – I hadn’t thought of using sweet potato.

Monoprinting

I found several tutorials. This one is interesting, you really gently lay the paper on top of ink and then draw on top of it. And how about using gelatin?

Lino printing

Take a look at this video via CRAFT – lino printing explained in 60 seconds.

Screenprinting

Lots of lovely screenprinted-goodness on UK Handmade. And here is a tutorial for printing t-shirts.

What are your favourite printing methods? What are you looking forward to trying in July?

2 Responses to “Printing inspiration”


  1. 1 Barbara June 26, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Hi Christine!

    I am really excited about this new year of 52 crafts and I will be doing as many as I can! I recently tried silk screen printing, not as difficult as I thought it would be. Using a simple stencil you really can get some awesome results. I have just gotten some rubber stamps made for printing on cloth. Basically, the same idea as your potato printing. The key seems to be to get the best ink for whatever surface you are printing on. And, then if you need it to be permanent to heat set or use some other method to make sure it will be. Haven’t tried the gelatin yet, but I am looking forward to doing it. Thanks for all the inspiration and all the fun!
    Love and Happy Crafting, Barbara

  2. 2 Laura June 28, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration, I am really looking forward to trying all these different techniques. I bought some fabric inks when I was on holiday in India last year and haven’t had the chance to use them yet! xx


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

