{week 49} shrink plastic

Did you ever put empty crisp packets in the oven and watch them shrink down to perfect miniature versions of themselves? Well shrink plastic is just like that – but without the fat.

Shrink plastic

I got my shrink plastic from Homecrafts. You just use a permanent marker to draw the design, add colour with pencils, cut out the shapes, punch holes if you want them and bung in the oven according to the packet instructions. Easy!

Something I didn’t take into consideration was the amount of shrinkage. I should have remembered those crisps of days gone by and the teeny tiny packets they became.

Shrinking plastic

On the right is the button shape before shrinkage

I love the buttons, it would be a fun way to customise a project and make truly individual buttons just for you. No one else will have anything like it.

Shrink plastic buttons

Have you experimented with shrink plastic? What else could we make with it?

Not long now until I launch 52 crafts in 52 weeks year 2. I’d love it if you could join in.

And finally, the eagle-eyed amongst you would have noticed I failed to blog every day in May. I forgot on Friday and then on Saturday and Sunday I was really busy (and exhausted after walking 18 miles) and frankly by Monday I just wasn’t in the mood. This is where a proper editorial calendar and some pre-written posts would have come in handy. Oh well, maybe next year!

2 Responses to “{week 49} shrink plastic”


  1. 1 The HAUTE HOST May 25, 2011 at 4:53 am

    Hello fellow blogathoner! I might try this with my niece. Also, I too forgot after the Blogger site crashed to post daily. Oh well, we tried :-) We shall forge on.

    • 2 Christine May 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      I think it would be a great project to do with kids – the main thing to watch is how long you leave the plastic in the oven – it doesn’t need long.
      Maybe next year I’ll manage to blog every day!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

