{week 47} glass painting

It’s been another gorgeous day and it was hard to tear myself away from the sunshine to get crafting but luckily I’d already planned what to make. So I had plenty of time to laze in the sun reading magazines and sipping fruit smoothies.

Button jar

Button jar

I like to make functional things so I decided to make storage for my craft supplies – jars like these are perfect for buttons. And they don’t need much decoration as once they’re full of colourful slivers of plastic, glass and (if I’m lucky) Bakelite they brighten up a craft space all by themselves. So I kept the design simple using a black outliner. Once it’s dry I’ll add a little colour to the buttons. Then leave it all to dry for 24 hours before baking according to the instructions.

Hot pink pots

Applying the gold

Hot pink pots

These little pots were once full of yummy desserts from a certain well-known high street supermarket and they’re perfect as tea light holders or trinket pots. I think I have enough of the former so I’ll be using them to hold bits and pieces like hair grips and earrings. I painted the fuchsia on the inside of the pots (I think another coat might be needed) and then used gold outliner for the little dots. Again, I’ll bake them in 24 hours time.

Glass painting is an easy way to personalise glassware for you and as gifts – a set of tumblers would be a great house-warming present or a pair of champagne flutes a wedding gift.

You can buy paints online here. I only bought two colours (pink and blue) – I think I need more. What colours do you think I should get?

7 Responses to “{week 47} glass painting”


  1. 1 Gin May 9, 2011 at 12:55 am

    More colors? That Shimmer Silver is so pretty, and maybe the Oriental Green would make for nice stems and leaves.

    I do like the unevenness of the fuchsia paint on the little pots. It looks like stop-motion. I wonder if baking it will change the appearance.

  2. 3 Haley May 9, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Cute! I especially like the little fuchsia pots with gold dot details. As you mention, those are perfect for holding hair ties.

  3. 5 Annette Gendler May 9, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    How pretty! I love the idea of labeling glass jars by “writing” on them with the appropriate paint like you did on your jar for buttons. That might work well in my pantry, actually!


  1. 1 {week 48} patchwork quilt « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on May 15, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

