Are you eccentric?

Coffee cup

What's your habit? Do you make drink coffee before writing?

I was thinking about what to write today (this blogging every day thing is getting tricky and I’m only on day 5) when I came across this article (via Etsy’s Facebook page).

It describes several eccentricities of great creatives – Victor Hugo wrote in the buff – and discusses why creative people have these habits and the importance of them.

I don’t think I have any, but maybe I should develop some. In fact, I’ve just started reading The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life. Author, Twyla Tharp, recommends having a habit or ritual that gets you ready to create.

How about you? Do you have any eccentric quirks or rituals that fire-up your creativity?

8 Responses to “Are you eccentric?”


  1. 1 Kate @ Teaching What Is Good May 5, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    HAHA! Well, I can’t say that I have any eccentric habits when I write. I just try to do it when the children are outside playing and it is a “little” quiet (like now).

    Found you through Blogathon 2011. Nice blog!! I’m gonna follow you!

  2. 2 jenwillis May 5, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Well, given that I’m currently wearing a witch hat to help me focus on rewriting a manuscript about Southern witches, I think I can safely say, yes, I am eccentric. :)

  3. 3 Stephanie Suesan Smith, Ph.D. May 5, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Our family has always stoutly maintained that we are not weird, we just have the eccentricities of genius. Of course, that difference was lost on the bullies on the playground, but my mother writes romance novels and cozy mysteries, my dad writes very technical engineering articles, I write nonfiction, and my sister writes poetry. Most of us are published, too. Must be something in the water.

  4. 4 Jackie Dishner May 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    I’m eccentric but not in that way. I have plenty of quirks but they don’t seem to appear while I’m writing. I’m pretty business-oriented when it comes to that. My eccentricities show up when I’m in public, with other people. Mostly, I think, it’s about my sense of humor. So that can sneak into my writing. But it’s generally a person-to-person kind of eccentricity. I like to make people laugh, because I like to laugh. And that, more often than not, requires an engagement with others. I like Hugo’s approach, though, as he certainly wouldn’t be going anywhere without his clothes. He’d have to stay put to write, wouldn’t he? LOL.

  5. 5 Nicole/MadlabPost May 6, 2011 at 2:30 am

    Not really, lol. Much like you, I don’t think I have any creative rituals or anything. I create differently depending on what the project calls for or how I believe may be the best way to develop a project.

  6. 6 Alana May 6, 2011 at 3:22 am

    I also found you through the Blogathon. Does WordPress have a search “widget” you can install so a person could search for a particular craft? I enjoyed the paper flowers in particular (just randomly went here and there) and the egg dying – it would be really cool to search through your blog – I am “all thumbs” but I crochet and I used to do crewelwork years ago.

    So as to your question….I don’t really think I have a creative ritual but….I certainly am eccentric.


  1. 1 Are you eccentric? Your comments « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on May 6, 2011 at 8:45 pm
  2. 2 What would you change? « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on May 9, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

