{week 35} rag rug

Apparently we throw away over 1 million tonnes of textiles every year in the UK – however as crafters I suspect we all look for alternative uses for old clothes or we mend and alter them. But here’s a way of recycling your cast offs that you might not have tried before: rag rugging.

I confess it’s a craft I’ve always seen as very old fashioned but I think it can be very modern if you make wise fabric and design choices. So I’m hoping my finished rug will be a pretty and contemporary addition to my home. However, as you can see, that might take a while!

Rag rug in progress (it might take a while!)

If you want to have a go at making a rag rug all you need is some hessian, rags and a tool called a ‘proddie’. I bought my kit from ebay. I decided to use jersey fabric (old tshirts) in whites and greys to make my rug (but I’m going to have to ask my friends and family to help me out with supplies as I don’t have enough old tops to make a cushion cover let alone a whole rug!).

Let me know if you’ve made a rag rug before and if you have any top tips for anyone who wants to give it a go.

4 Responses to “{week 35} rag rug”


  1. 1 INEZ February 12, 2011 at 4:35 am

    Please show the end result can wait to see it.
    You are becoming a truly crafter with all these projects.

  2. 3 sparkleanddoomdesigns February 12, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    looks great! How about ding a braided rag rug. It would probably be faster, but it would look totally different than the one you are making now. Also latch hook rug making is interesting, their are guilds devoted to the art.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

