{week 18} easy card making

Card making isn’t a new craft to me but the tool I used this week is. If you read a lot of craft blogs, the Silhouette SD won’t need any introduction. If you haven’t a clue what it is, read on…

I make a lot of cards – I never buy them – so a tool that allows me to digitally cut-out easily repeatable shapes, lettering, borders etc. instantly appealed to me. You can use it to cut out pre-loaded shapes and your own designs (something I haven’t had time to try yet) onto card, paper and vinyl (to name just a few materials). The Silhouette plugs into your PC or Mac (Mac software has just been released thankfully) and you use the software to determine the shape you want to cut.

Card making with the Silhouette SD

I first selected the basic arial font and used it to cut “happy birthday” out of a plain white card. Then I chose one of the flower shapes and cut it out of the blue card. Easy as that – and nearly as quick as that once you’ve done the initial set-up.

I can’t wait to make a tonne more cards and I can see me using it for lots of other uses: gift wrapping, scrapbooking and even glass etching (a future 52 weeks project maybe?).

PS – if you’re in the UK, I bought my machine from CraftsULove.

3 Responses to “{week 18} easy card making”


  1. 1 Susan Reaney October 12, 2010 at 1:54 am

    What a wonderful challenge! I have put you on my Google Reader and will be following you closely!
    Hugs,
    Suz


  1. 1 Tweets that mention {week 18} easy card making « 52 crafts in 52 weeks -- Topsy.com Trackback on October 8, 2010 at 6:21 pm
  2. 2 {week 34} glass etching « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on March 6, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

