{week 11} knitting

Well it was bound to happen at some point – a craft I haven’t managed to conquer in some way in a week to produce a finished item. I naively thought: knitting can’t be too hard, loads of people do it, including grannies. Surely I can learn how to do it in a week?

My desire to learn this very old craft (there are examples dating back to Roman times apparently) was enhanced by getting my mitts on a copy of the new, beautifully styled, Debbie Bliss book: The Knitter’s Year (out 3 September). The scarf on the front cover was enough to get me itching to get started. And there are lots more patterns inside to inspire from cushions to berets and socks to potholders.

The Knitter's Year

I flicked through the book (organised by the four seasons) and picked out a couple that seemed doable for a beginner (the scarf will definitely have to wait). I decided the simple but pretty washcloth (spring) would be a good start. It’s simply garter and double-moss stitch (okay, I didn’t have the faintest idea what they were but they sounded innocuous enough).

I decided – in the absence of a granny – to find some youtube tutorials to help me out.

So I can now technically knit thanks to the videos. But I haven’t mastered switching between knit and purl yet which is kinda vital for the double-moss bit it seems – in hindsight this was not the best project for me to pick, the potholder looks much more straightforward.

Knitting

I have unravelled and cast on again so many times I have literally lost count (but I am now great at casting on!) and I’ve lost rather a lot of patience too. But my aim is to make that beautiful scarf one day (and finish the washcloth) so watch this space.

9 Responses to “{week 11} knitting”


  1. 1 Lisa Stevens August 22, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    still….you had a go at knitting, which is more than I would ever attempt! :)

  2. 3 victoriapeat August 23, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    You sound just like me when I was learning to knit…completely seduced by a book, but having to turn to the internet for help! Good luck and I look forwards to seeing your first finished object

  3. 5 elizabeth August 24, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I had a friend teach me last month, but it definitely took a while until I got the hang of it.. then again I’m not purling, just knitting every row (I’m just making a boring scarf all one color to practice.) It’s not as easy as it looks, and I know how to crochet! It’s kind of nice to know it’s not just me. But actually… I may have to get that book! :)


  1. 1 {week 29} crochet (at altitude) « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on January 3, 2011 at 4:50 pm
  2. 2 Month 2 and the theme is Fibre « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on July 27, 2011 at 6:37 pm
  3. 3 {week 6} knitting « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on August 7, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

