{week 9} porcelain beads

Well no paper or fabric involved in this week’s project. Time to get out of my comfort zone and try something different: clay. My friend Lisa sent me a bag of porcelain clay – my challenge, if I chose to accept it, was to make beads.

I gathered some tools – I decided I needed things that would produce nice textures…

Tools
Old jewellery and a mini sieve amongst other bits and pieces. The sieve turned out to be my favourite tool.

And then I got stuck into making a mess with clay. It’s very therapeutic – and if you mess up you can just start again.

I ended up with an array of beads and buttons (click on the photo to view on flickr and see the notes explaining how I made each one).

Beads and buttons

Next step is to let them dry and then very very very carefully wrap them up for their journey to Lisa to be fired. I’ll update later with the results.

Speaking of Lisa, check out her beautiful work…

And my very own personalised bowl that she made for my wedding…

Hope you enjoyed this week’s craft – it was a bit of a different one for me but definitely enjoyable. Have you ever dabbled in clay?

2 Responses to “{week 9} porcelain beads”


  1. 1 Lisa Stevens August 7, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Excellent Chris! I hope you enjoyed it :) And of course…once I have glazed them, you can do an update :)


  1. 1 {week 9} smocking « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on September 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

