{week 7} book binding

I’ve had this book sitting on my bulging craft book shelves for a while. For some reason I’ve never made anything from it. Well this week that all changes.

As usual, I used supplies I already had to hand to make this book. I used sketchbook paper for the cover (ideally the cover should be a slightly heavier paper like watercolour but I’m making do) and beautiful pages from old Toast catalogues for the decoration and the facing pages. Bright red thread binds it all together.

Equipment for book binding

The book has two sections and a ‘W’ fold and was very very easy to make. I have a feeling I will make lots more of these in all shapes and sizes.

Front page

Back page

Finished book

Have you tried book binding – what styles have you tried?

7 Responses to “{week 7} book binding”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Rosemond July 23, 2010 at 3:14 am

    Oh, please do be careful. Book binding can be very habit forming!! Once you really get going, you will never be able to look at commercial notebooks or journals the same ever again :)

    • 2 Christine July 23, 2010 at 8:01 am

      Hi Elizabeth, When I started reading your comment I thought it was going to be a dire warning about stabbing myself with a needle – ha ha! I can definitely see how it can be habit forming :)

  2. 3 kate July 23, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Hiya, I can see me borrowing this book for my wedding stationery…i’m thinking Order of Service!!! x

  3. 5 Autumn Wee August 11, 2010 at 8:19 am

    i’ve tried creating a concertina booklet. your’s looks like a different yet interesting method. will you be posting a tutorial? maybe i can do up a tutorial on how to put together a concertina booklet too!


  1. 1 {week 7} crochet « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on August 16, 2011 at 5:10 pm
  2. 2 A handmade Christmas – gift ideas « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on November 28, 2012 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

