Emily’s Reading Nook

Emily's Reading Nook

When we moved in to our rented house in California we were at a loss at what to do with the brick structure in the corner of our living room. Presumably it was meant to be a fire place. But there was no stove. So I initially filled it with photos.

IMG_5190

 

But with a mobile baby (almost-toddler eeek!) I needed to come up with a new plan. Emily loves snuggling up with me and reading or just sitting and turning pages on her own so the plan for a reading nook was born. The only purchase I made were more pillows. I covered the bottom with old quilts, a duvet and a blanket. The mantle is decorated with Spring-themed books (and the birdhouses I made before she was born) – I plan to change the theme every so often as I get bored looking at the same things all the time. And when she’s older she’ll be able to help me choose what we put there.

We love it!

emily's reading nook

6 Responses to “Emily’s Reading Nook”


  1. 1 Barbara March 28, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    Great use of space. It is so good for babies to read and be read to – now you have just the right place for it!

  2. 2 Fiona March 28, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    Great idea. Beats the mess all over our floor. :)

  3. 3 Lorainne March 29, 2013 at 7:50 am

    Oh I’d love a reading nook like that…

  4. 4 Jules April 21, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    I love this reading book idea. Happy 1st Bryhday to Emily.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,001 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

