{week 3} lino printing

If you’re a fan of 52 crafts on Facebook or follow me on Twitter you’ll know I was celebrating my birthday on Saturday and therefore felt slightly delicate yesterday! Plus I was suffering from a severe lack of inspiration and motivation.

This lack of motivation continued into today but I forced myself to get out my sketchbook and drew a chrysanthemum (they were dotted around my house in glass jars for my party) in the hope that inspiration would strike. No.

Sketching

So I decided to fill a page with scribbled flowers to try and get some ideas going. And it worked! The super quick drawings at last inspired me to start cutting into my lino block.

Lino printing

So, to lino print, you need: a pencil, tracing paper (possibly, I didn’t use any), lino cutting tool, lino (I used easy-carve), ink, roller (brayer), something to spread the ink on (I used the glass left from the photo frame I used last week) and paper/cards/fabric/whatever you’re printing on.

I drew directly on to the lino with a soft pencil but you could use tracing paper to transfer your design.

Just like with stamp carving you cut away the parts you want to stay white when you print. I decided that I actually wanted to fill my design with colour so I only cut away the scribbled flowers. Make sure you cut away from you – safety first! To go around corners smoothly I find it easiest to slowly rotate the lino as I cut.

Lino cutting

I mixed up some ink to get a light blue and used my roller to get an even layer on the glass. Then I rolled it over the lino. Once it was all inked up I placed it carefully on a card and rubbed all over the back of it – ideally you’d use a clean roller but I didn’t have one so I used the back of a spoon to rub all over the back.

And that’s all there is to it. Once the cards were dry I used a black pen to add poems about flowers on some of the cards and some more scribbled flowers on others.

Finished cards with writing and doodling

Have you tried lino printing? Any other printing this week? Share your projects in the comments here, on Twitter (using the hashtag #52crafts52weeks), on Facebook or Flickr.

Flasback: Week 3 in year 1 was all about papier-mâché

5 Responses to “{week 3} lino printing”


  1. 1 Panya July 18, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Hope your birthday was fun!

    The only lino printing I’ve done was in art class in grade school. I used tracing paper and a page from my favorite coloring book. I can’t remember now what the picture was! I just mentioned it to my mom and she said, “Duh, it was 20 years ago!” :-D It’s bugging me though, because usually my long-term memory is terrific.

    • 2 Christine July 24, 2011 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you Panya. I last did lino printing at school too but I have no recollection of what I printed. I seem to remember I didn’t actually enjoy it though!

  2. 3 Lora Spence July 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Well Happy Birthday, Chickie!! Surely you can take your birthday week off! Your dedication is inspiring and frankly, I think your first sketch was beautiful and could be a craft in itself. You sure have the talent! Anyways, hope your birthday was a blast!! Hazelruth


  1. 1 {week 4} mono printing « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on July 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,004 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

