Creative inspiration (and blogging every day)

I’ve been writing a column over on Indie Fixx about creativity – I thought you might all find it interesting too so here’s a little teaser for each post (four so far) and you can pop over to Jen’s place to read the rest and see all the photos.

Setting your own creativity challenge

“It’s also a good idea to make yourself accountable in some way to complete your challenge. I started a blog so that people all over the world could see my progress. And I always get asked, “What’s your craft this week” by my friends, family and colleagues. So there’s less chance of me abandoning it. You don’t have to start a blog–you could join like-minded people on a forum, flickr, twitter or just tell your family your plans so they support you.”

Read more about starting your own challenge

Inspiration and motivation

“I love craft books and magazines and I have a huge stash of them. But you could also use design, food and gardening magazines for inspiration – imagine drawing a page full of beautiful spring flowers from a magazine. You could pin up your favourite images on an inspiration board, stick them on your studio wall or save them in a journal.”

Pop on over to Indie Fixx to read more

Making time for creativity

“Depending on your daily schedule and your natural rhythms–I often feel more creative in the mornings for example–carve out a time slot in the day that you can spend creating. It may mean getting up an hour earlier. Or staying up an hour later if that works for you. If an hour seems too much try just 20 minutes earlier. If you’re serious about being creative you can make the time.”

Do you need help finding time to create? You know what to do (click!)

A creative space

“How about a corner of your sofa or a pretty chair in your bedroom? Just perfect for some knitting, embroidery or sketching. Don’t forget to make sure you’ve got a good light source so you’re not squinting as you stitch beyond sun-down.”

A space of your own is within reach if you read more

Now, onto the blogging every day bit. I usually write this blog just once a week but for the whole month of May I will be posting here every single day. You know I love a challenge.

I’m taking part in the 2011 Blogathon – find out more here. I hope I can keep it up! Come back tomorrow to see this week’s craft.

6 Responses to “Creative inspiration (and blogging every day)”


  1. 1 Lisa Tabachnick Hotta May 1, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Congrats on your beautiful blog. I’m not a crafty person though I love art and painting. I’m sure your crafts make for wonderful meditation time. Cheers.

  2. 3 Annette Gendler May 2, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Agreed on creative space! I’ve got one corner of my couch where I write and I wish I had the space in our apartment to set up a space for sewing because that’s a hoppy that really needs space!

    • 4 Christine May 2, 2011 at 8:14 am

      Hi Annette, finding a creative space can be really tough. You can get sewing tables that the machines fit on – maybe that could work for you?

  3. 5 Melissa oakes May 2, 2011 at 3:32 am

    You have a beautiful blog. I too love being creative. Thanks for reminding me I need to take time out to allow for it. I always forget and am sorry for it. Great post!

    • 6 Christine May 2, 2011 at 8:16 am

      Thank you Melissa – I started my challenge so that every week I would definitely make time to be creative. Maybe you could start a challenge of your own? Perhaps in June after the Blogathon?


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,002 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,002 other followers

