{week 44} metal embossing

The weather was lovely this weekend – beautiful blue skies and a warm Spring sun. But I always make time for craft, even if the sun is drawing me outside. This week I tried metal embossing.

Framed copper art

I love copper – it reminds me of sunsets. And of the fireplace we had in my childhood home.

Metal embossing is just like drawing, and very easy to do. You just need a sheet of copper, an embossing tool, and a pencil. The bowl was a Christmas present, isn’t it lovely?

All you need is copper and an embossing tool

I lightly drew the design on the copper (flowers of course, possibly the only thing I can draw!) and then went over the lines with the tool, pressing hard. And that is all there is to it. I managed to do a little shading with the tool (teeny tiny lines) and some dots to add texture.

You can cut the copper with scissors if you want to use smaller pieces – maybe as pendants or earrings? I like the look of my final piece framed.

Framed copper art

4 Responses to “{week 44} metal embossing”


  1. 1 Lisa May 6, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Love your blog. I dabble in crafts too, in the invitation and jewelry arenas. can’t wait to check out other posts! Keep it up fellow blogathoner!

  2. 3 Esther June 1, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I love your blog, and have been following it for nearly a year now!! A couple of years ago, I had some plans for Christmas decorations… I found that copper sheets were pretty expensive, but drinks cans aren’t… Cut them open with some sturdy scissors (or tin snips if you have them) and you’re away! It turns out if you heat drinks cans up, (I used a gas hob – put them right in the flame, although not sure what the fumes did for my wellbeing)they turn pretty colours – bronzy pinks etc…


Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,001 other followers

Most popular posts today

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

