{week 40} stamp making

Wow. Week 40. Only 12 to go. If you have any top ideas for my last 12 weeks please comment below – I’m sure there are tonnes of crafts I haven’t tried yet.

I’m not in my usual surroundings at the moment and don’t have any of my craft supplies to hand so I had to start from scratch for this week’s project. I was very happy to find a Paper Source store yesterday so I could stock up on some bits and pieces and as it’s tipping down with rain today it is a perfect excuse to stay in and make pretty things.

Alongside lots of crafty goodness I picked up a Speedball stamp making kit – it included rubber, two blades, tracing paper and instructions. All I needed to supplement it was some ink, a craft knife, a pencil and some cards to print on.

I started off with a simple monogram. I drew it on paper (after several attempts to find a design I liked), traced it and then transferred it to the rubber by scribbling on the back of the tracing paper with pencil (remember when doing this that your letters need to be backwards so they’re the right way when you print them).

Tracing

Tracing

Then it was time to get cutting. I first cut a square around the letter with the craft knife to make it easier to handle. Then used the smaller blade to cut the outline and details. I swapped to the big blade to cut away the larger pieces – it’s easier to cut away from your design and safer too as you’re less likely to damage your creation. And remember to keep your fingers out of the way of the blade. You don’t need to gouge big lumps out, just enough to make the design raised higher than the rest of the rubber.

Carving a monogram

In progress

When you think you’re done, ink it up and do a test print.

C monogram - more cutting needed

Cut away any areas you’ve missed – and print again to check. I personally quite like the slightly rough look so I didn’t go too mad getting every single bit. Photo of the final print coming up in a few photos time (this is an image heavy post to say the least).

I felt I’d got the hang of this stamp-making lark so I moved on to a more complicated design based on my freehand embroidery from week 2 (sigh, seems like only yesterday).

In progress

(note the lack of a cutting board so a complimentary copy of USA Today stands in for the job)

 

Stamp in progress

This design took quite a while and some patience to cut out. But I got there in the end.

Carved stamp

I’m still insisting I like the rough look… I really do actually and I love the resulting cards. And monogrammed envelope.

Envelope with monogram and card with flower

Flower cards

I loved stamp making – it’s almost meditative, all that cutting. And it’s fairly low-cost and easy to do. I’ll be doing it again definitely.

I hope you enjoyed this week’s craft. Have you tried stamp making? I’d love to see your fabulous projects.

6 Responses to “{week 40} stamp making”


  1. 1 Jennifer | The Make Lounge March 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    We love this stuff – we sell it in our shop! It’s brilliant stuff – so easy to use!

    We used to run fab stamp making workshops but our lovely teacher moved to Nepal to teach for a year. We miss her but to resume them at some point when she returns. :)

  2. 2 Joana Matos March 20, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Hey there Christine,

    Love your crafts! Totally believe though that you might be getting out of ideas.. hehe
    Have you tried tatting? I saw some really cute tatted hearing in Etsy once and have been planing to try it.
    Just an idea. ;)

  3. 3 Karen March 23, 2011 at 4:54 am

    Let’s see… you could try calligraphy, wood carving, carving soap stone, making paper flowers, making bowls or other things from gourds, making rawhide rattles, macrame, basket making, or building bird houses. That’s all I can think of right now.

    I enjoyed your blog. Good luck with the last 12 weeks.

    Karen

  4. 4 Christine April 11, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Thank you Joana & Karen for the ideas :)
    Jennifer – it is so so easy to use. I will be stocking up on more soon.


  1. 1 {week 41} decoupage « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on April 2, 2011 at 1:34 pm
  2. 2 {week 42} paper flowers « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on April 3, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,004 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

