{week 38} assemblage

I came up with the idea for week 38 after seeing this tutorial on CRAFT by Abigal Patner Glassenberg. I didn’t really know what assemblage meant but I did a little research…

Assemblage is an artistic process in which a three-dimensional artistic composition is made from putting together found objects.” Wikipedia

And I thought: “sounds like the perfect craft for Christine as she hasn’t planned anything yet again and has no time to buy new stuff”.

So here’s my own assemblage birdie (I didn’t follow the tutorial exactly but used it for inspiration). My finished little bird is made of pretty vintage fabric scraps, some spare bits of wire and is mounted on a gesso coated canvas.

Birdy made from vintage fabric

Week 39 is coming up very shortly as I’m a week behind. And thanks to food poisoning I’m likely to end up behind by another week if I don’t come up with this week’s craft soon! But at least I’ve managed to update my blog layout so I can post larger photos at last – hope you like it. I’d like to do more work around here soon and I need to go back over old posts and update the photos but I think it’s all looking much better.

2 Responses to “{week 38} assemblage”


  1. 1 Lucy (theprojectlab) March 16, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    Oh, only just catching up with this. Love your birdy! :) Lucy x

  2. 2 Talia April 1, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Christine, this sounds like my kind of craft too- a bit like collage, a bit like sewing, and a bit like AWESOME!

    Love your little bird. :-)


Leave a comment




Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 994 other subscribers

Flickr Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.