{week 27} cross stitch

This week’s project was a freebie – or at least it was only the cost of a magazine. The cross stitch heart kit came free with Cross Stitcher magazine and at first glance it looked very simple.

Cross stitch is just how it sounds – a serious of small sewn crosses that you sew following a chart. This pattern was just one colour so a simple design but the slight complication was instead of using the traditional fabric – aida – it used gingham. Undaunted, I got stuck in. The main problems were: wonky stitches (no holes to guide me, just the gingham design), tangled threads, knots and pulled fabric.

But I got there in the end and I think it’s a very pretty result:

Cross stitch Christmas heart

Do you cross stitch? Do you have any favourite kits?

EDIT: Just seen this useful list of cross stitch resources, looks good.

7 Responses to “{week 27} cross stitch”


  1. 1 creadientje December 15, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I think this is a really cute idea!
    I have done some cross stitching over the years, but don’t have a favourite kit…
    I still have to finish (framing) my little girl’s birth cross stitch… she’ll turn 2 on sunday (oops)

    • 2 Christine December 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      Despite the issues I had along the way I did find it a very relaxing craft – maybe I’ll tackle a kit soon too. Hope you frame your little girl’s cross stitch soon :)

  2. 3 wendy December 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    It looks great, BUT it’s not cross stitch – well technically it is, but this technique (on gingham) is called Chicken Scratch. So you can do cross stitch on a different week!

  3. 5 Casey December 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I love to cross stitch! I don’t do much anymore but I do have a fun project I can’t wait to start next year!


  1. 1 Tweets that mention {week 27} cross stitch « 52 crafts in 52 weeks -- Topsy.com Trackback on December 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,004 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

