{week 23} kanzashi flowers

I do rather love all things crafty and Japanese so I’ve picked a craft inspired by the East this week.

Kanzashi flower

Kanzashi flowers – or tsunami kanzashi – are used in Japan in decorative hair pieces. Tsumami kanzashi is worn by the young girls who are training to become a geisha. They are seasonal and customised based on the month such as plum blossoms in February and cherry blossoms in April and is also worn for celebrating the new year, weddings, and performing classical Japanese dance.

Kanzashi flower

I used 12 3.5″ squares of pretty fabric to make mine following the directions on Instructables. I found some pretty pearls for the centre. I haven’t decided what I’m going to do with mine yet. I could attach a brooch pin, a hairclip, or attach it to a top or bag.

Kanzashi flower

What do you think I should do with it? Have you made kanzashi?

5 Responses to “{week 23} kanzashi flowers”


  1. 1 Lisa P. November 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Fun flowers! May I ask where you got those lovely birds?


  1. 1 Make… | fridayprize Trackback on December 8, 2010 at 2:01 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,001 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

