{week 4} papercutting

Papercutting – also known as scherenschnitte (scissor cuts) in German – has deep historical roots. The oldest known papercut is from 6th century China and the art spread across Asia and into Europe by the 16th century. Read more about the history and culture of papercutting on Wikipedia.

It’s no secret how much I love papercutting – if you read paper and cloth you’ll have seen my love for artists like Rob Ryan and The Time is Now – and I’ve been wanting to give it a go for a while. Look at all the beauty I found on flickr!

1. Esiotrot, 2. 333 Miles to Home, 3. Untitled, 4. winter forest papercut, 5. Zoe, 6. An Awkward Grimace, 7. Tree – abundance 3 detail, 8. The Wound (detail), 9. A mother’s afternoon-papercutting.jpg 2

The first thing I did was buy a decent knife. Research suggested x-acto is the knife of choice – I got this one from Amazon.

Then I did some sketching and then some cutting! I just used sketchbook paper as that’s what I had to hand. See skinny laminx’s tutorial for a method where you use thin paper over black paper instead of drawing directly on the paper you’re using like I did. The main thing to do is to make sure you don’t leave any unconnected areas or accidentally cut too far. Take it slowly.

Here’s my first attempt… what do you think?

First attempt at papercutting

First attempt at papercutting

First attempt at papercutting

Have a go, it’s  fun!

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,004 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

