{week 3} papier-mâché

Before I get stuck into this week’s craft I just want to say a huge thank you to whipup for featuring my crazy little endeavour this week and to say hi to everyone who’s visited, commented and subscribed because of it.

Papier-mâché is a craft as old as paper making itself and has been used for decorative purposes as well as in toy- and mask-making for centuries.

I’ve had the book Home, Paper, Scissors by Patricia Zapata for a while but I haven’t had chance to try anything so I was keen to make something from it for this project. The bowls featured on the front cover grabbed my attention but in the spirit of trying not to spend too much money (or none in this case) I chose to take Patricia’s suggestion of using shredded office paper rather than beautiful brand new coloured paper.

home, paper, scissors

This is probably the most therapeutic craft I’ve tried so far – I loved using my fingers to spread the glue around rather than a brush and as it’s water-based PVA it washes out easily. It was interesting picking out the different snippets of information from the shredded paper – there were splashes of colour among the office-white, and handwritten scribbles as well as printed type – and I recognised receipts from different shops and my husband’s foreign travels.

Papier-mâché in progress

And here’s the finished bowl, full of my collection of vintage cotton reels. Such an easy, practical and effective project. Give it a try!

Finished papier-mâché bowl

10 Responses to “{week 3} papier-mâché”


  1. 1 Jules June 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I’ve never thought of making a bowl like this. Looks fab!

  2. 3 Lisa Stevens June 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Perfect paper recycling!

  3. 5 SallyF June 24, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Ooh it’s turned out really well, I think I like your version more than the coloured ones. Nice styling in the photo too.

  4. 7 Inez June 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I love the idea of 52 week I found the infor on whip up. I am looking for to each week.
    WOW, is the only word I can you.
    Do you give clues to what next week holds.


  1. 1 {week 3} lino printing « 52 crafts in 52 weeks Trackback on July 25, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,004 other followers

What I’m twittering about

Flickr Photos

Baby's first quilt

Close-up of embroidery

Baby quilt

More Photos

Contact me

Email: christinenancyevans [@] gmail.com
All images and text are © Christine Evans unless otherwise stated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

